About our Courses

What is SCORM?  What’s the difference between the versions?  Find out here.

Who developed these courses?  

The Team here at the SCORM Store are trained instructional designers, graphic artists and programmers.  Additionally, we have in-house OSHA certified trainers that have been helping clients reduce accidents and raise awareness to workplace hazards for over two decades.  These courses are a culmination of our experience and industry best practices.  We review and update courses on a regular basis.  Our compliance team monitors changes in DOT, EPA and OSHA regulations to ensure that you get the latest information.

Updates to courses

When you purchase a SCORM Course package we provide free updates for a year.  If important changes to regulations happen to affect a course we immediately edit the course and notify our customers that an update is available.

What is SCORM?
Shareable Content Object Reference Model (SCORM) is a collection of standards and specifications for web-based electronic educational technology (also called e-learning). It defines communications between client side content and a host system (called “the run-time environment”), which is commonly supported by a learning management system. SCORM also defines how content may be packaged into a transferable ZIP file called “Package Interchange Format.”


Evolution of the standard
SCORM has evolved in an effort to meet the needs of the industry.  This evolution resulted in the creation of multiple versions which some people find confusing.



What’s the difference?
SCORM 1.2 – This was the first version that was widely used. It is still widely used and is supported by most Learning Management Systems.
SCORM 2004 – This is the current version. It is based on new standards for API and content object-to-runtime environment communication, with many ambiguities of previous versions resolved. Includes the ability to specify adaptive sequencing of activities that use the content objects. Includes the ability to share and use information about the success status for multiple learning objectives or competencies across content objects and across courses for the same learner within the same Learning Management System. A more robust test suite helps ensure good interoperability.

  • 3rd Edition — clarification of various conformance requirements and of the interaction between content objects and the runtime environment for sequencing; some new conformance requirements to improve interoperability.
  • 4th Edition — more stringent interoperability requirements, more flexible data persistence.


What we do
SCORM content packages contain a manifest file that describes the package and its contents. The manifest file is a structured inventory of the content of the package.  SCORM 1.2 and SCORM 2004 use different manifest file structures.  Our course content is wrapped and packaged using the specifications of the version you choose.  Our courses use communication commands which do not rely on features found in specific SCORM versions (sequencing and jump navigation are examples of this).

SCORM Version
All of our courses are available in the most popular formats:

  • SCORM 1.2
  • SCORM 2004, 3rd Edition
  • SCORM 2004, 4th Edition

Completion Type
Depending on [compliance requirements] within your organization, some courses do not need an assessment.  These courses are ‘complete’ once a learner has viewed all content.  This is known as a ‘Threshold Completion’.  Other courses require that the learner pass an exam, or assessment, prior to receiving credit in the Learning Management System.

Our courses are configured to require that the learner achieve an 80% prior to passing.  We can provide custom orders for packages with threshold completion, or packages that have been modified to meet the requirements of your Learning Management System.